Sperlings on Disc

For MP3s go to www.carlsandin.com and look at the discography page.


Glidepath to Normalcy (1996)

Melodic pop meets driving rock in this stunning debut release. 13 original tracks introduce this Houston quartet.

  1. I Wonít Wait
  2. Trend
  3. Elevator Days
  4. Inevitable Failure
  5. I Donít Trust You
  6. Kelly Says
  7. Like I Do
  • Nothing Like That Now
  • Missed the Boat
  • Get it Right
  • Get it For Me
  • Your Only Goal
  • Trophy Girl
  • Sea of Sarcasm (1997)

    13 more gems from Houston's pop rock avatars. This release offers some different textures as the Sperlings sound evolves to a new level.

    1.The Eleventh Hour

    2. Rock Cliché #57

    3. Allure

    4.Shape Shifter

    5. Father Smokestack

    6. The Boy Who Could Fly

    7. Poised For Inaction

    8. Barely Alive

    9. Soul Crusher

    10. Never Like That Around Here

    11. Afraid of This

    12. Losing Ground

    13. Art of Dying

    Review from Space City Rock

    The Sperlings - Sea of Sarcasm

    Just by looking at the cheery, colorful cover & goofy band pictures, you might be fooled into thinking this was another cheesy pop album - and given that The Sperlings' first album pretty much was a cheesy pop album (I don't mean "cheesy" as a slam, by the way, just a description), that wouldn't be too hard to see. This time around, though, The Sperlings guys really wanna rawk - they've turned up the guitars, snarled a bit more, and gotten a hell of a lot more cynical.

    The pop influence is definitely still in evidence, and each song's full of catchy melodies, but there's an angry power lurking behind. Take a listen to the bitter tirade of "Poised For Inaction," or the anti-work anthem "Soul Crusher," and you'll see what I mean. Sharp guitars tear through all over the place (see "Shape Shifter" and "Never Like That Around Here"), and the dance-y "Allure" (which sounds close to an Elastica outtake) sound almost sinister. It's a little tough to reconcile the rough, ragged stuff on here with those four clean-and-shiny guys in the pictures, but what the hell...

    The '80s-ish "Rock Cliché #57" provides a nice change of pace, as does the Too Much Joy-like "The Boy Who Could Fly" and the beautiful & sad "Afraid of This" (which is probably the best "quiet" song I've heard yet by these guys). The Sperlings proudly wear their influences on their sleeve throughout, with plenty of vintage power-pop hooks and Husker Du-ish guitars (lead guitarist Rob Smith's "Father Smokestack" really makes me think of Grant Hart, for some reason), and finally throwing in a fiery cover of George Harrison's "Art of Dying" to close out the album.

    Despite the fact that The Sperlings are all damn fine musicians, I'll admit it: I wasn't overly thrilled with the last album. I thought the songwriting was a little off, and the vocals a bit untried, mostly - and while there are still some awkward points on Sea of Sarcasm (I could really do without the Rush synths in "Barely Alive," for example - heh), these guys have definitely taken a big step in the right direction, and are probably one of the best power-pop bands in town.

    Green Manilow (2001)

    Sperlings 21 track final album, a last gasp? a masterpiece? a disaster piece? A bit of each? E-mail me, I'll send you one.

    1. The End of the World Show

    2. Artificial Excitement

    3. Modern Girl

    4. Littlest Tramp

    5. Used to It

    6. You Can't Even Begin to Know

    7. Granny!

    8. How Strange It Seems

    9. Losing It All

    10. Wierd

    11. Oh, Geoffrey

    12. Substance

    13. TV Theme Song

    14. Don't Hate Me Because I'm Beautiful

    15. Island

    16. Amazon Amy

    17. Inside/Out

    18. Anything Is Possible

    19. The Dude Abides

    20. I'm Not Happy

    21. Left Behind

    Go to bronzebeagle.com to order these and other fine audio products!





    545 Studewood St.

    Houston, TX 77007


    Copyright 1998